Getting Organized

One piece of starting your own business that you don’t normally think about is having a space to work. Due to space constraints, I haven’t had a place that I could set up a desk, spread out, and easily work with computer and books since college. Yes, a kitchen table or couch will get the job done, but its important to have a dedicated space to sit down and work.

Now, I’m obviously still very much in the pre-planning stages of entrepreneurship. I’m still working on the research for what it takes to start your own business- how to create a business plan, market research, and even as basic as determining my fundamental values. I had grand plans at the beginning of the year to commit to researching and planning every day, but that’s been very much unrealistic. My new goal is closer to once  a week, though at times that doesn’t seem quite doable. I feel though if I push myself to take deliberate steps towards my goal of dance studio ownership at least once a week, actually working minimum of every two weeks is very manageable.

My husband and I bought our first home this past fall, about six months ago. We have a spare room that we have intentions on turning into a guest bedroom. Right now, though, getting a second bed for this room isn’t doable, but there is no sense in wasting this great space. My mom gave me a table that she and my dad made for my sister and I when we were very young now that I have space for it. This table is now my desk and I have more space than I’ve had in a long time and to top it off, I have a great view of our backyard.

With my new space, an organized bookshelf within easy reach, and a renewed motivation after speaking to my boss at my full time (non dance related) job, I feel like I am set up for productivity. Now, I just need to invest in a new computer in the not too distant future….

Leave a Reply

